Memphremagog Basin: Clean Water Service Provider

  • Lake Memphremagog

    Memphremagog Clean Water Service Provider logo
    VHCB is the Clean Water Service Provider for the Lake Memphremagog Basin.

    The Vermont Clean Water Service Delivery Act of 2019, or Act 76, established a new framework for funding non-regulatory clean-water projects and created regional organizations called Clean Water Service Providers (CWSP) in both the Lake Champlain and Lake Memphremagog Basins.

    To guide the prioritization and selection of clean water projects for funding, VHCB has established a local council called the Basin Water Quality Council (BWQC). The nine-member BWQC includes representatives from local municipalities, conservation districts, regional planning commissions, watershed groups, and a statewide conservation organization.

    In the Memphremagog Basin, the pollutant of concern has been determined to be phosphorus. The projects that VHCB funds as the CWSP will reduce phosphorus loading in order to help reach clean water goals as laid out in the Memphremagog Phosphorus Total Maximum Daily Load.

    Non-regulatory projects include floodplain reconnections, wetlands restoration, riparian and lakeshore corridor protection, forestland best management practices, and forested riparian buffer restoration. Considered in the project selection process are the co-benefits of a clean water project, including improved flood resiliency and flood hazard mitigation.

    This program is new, not only for VHCB, but for the state of Vermont. As information becomes available, this webpage will be updated with details on the funding application process, funded projects, and phosphorus reduction targets.

    For more information contact Karen Freeman, Associate Director of Conservation by email to @email or at 802-828-5067

    2023 Memphremagog Basin Water Quality Council Meetings 
    February 9, 2023 - Agenda

    2022 Memphremagog Basin Water Quality Council Meetings 
    Wednesday, April 6 -  3:00 - 5:00 p.m. on Zoom:
    Agenda - Minutes - Meeting Presentation 1 - Meeting Presentation 2

    Friday, July 1, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon on Zoom:
    Agenda - Minutes - Presentation

    Tuesday, August 23, 8:00 a.m. - 10 a.m.  on Zoom:
    Agenda - Minutes - Presentation

    Monday, November 14, 10:00 am - 12:00 p.m. Zoom:
    Agenda - Minutes


    2022-2023 Memphremagog Basin Water Quality Council Members/Terms

    Regional Planning Commission members:
    Doug Morton, Senior Transportation Planner, Northeastern Vermont Development Association/Term: 2023
    Beth Torpey, Chair, Water Quality Planner, Northeastern Vermont Development Association/Term: 2024

    Natural Resources Conservation District members:
    Sarah Damsell, District Manager, Orleans County Natural Resources Conservation District/Term: 2024
    Heather Johnson, Essex County District Manager, Essex County Natural Resources Conservation District/Term: 2023

    Municipal members:
    Thomas Bernier, Director of Public Works, City of Newport/Term: 2023
    Eric Pope, Selectman, Town of Morgan/Term: 2024

    Watershed Group members:
    Meghann Carter, Conservation Science Director, NorthWoods Stewardship Center/Term: 2023
    Patrick Hurley, Project Manager, Memphremagog Watershed Association/Term: 2024

    Land Conservation Organization member: Kerry O’Brien, Vice Chair, Northeast Kingdom Project Director, Vermont Land Trust/Term: 2024