About Us

  • Program Staff


    Liz Gleason, Program DIRECTOR

    LG PhotoLiz joined the Vermont Farm & Forest Viability Program in 2010, becoming Director in 2021. Liz oversees all program activities, funding awards, outcomes evaluation and reporting. She also fosters a robust set of partnerships with partner organizations across the state and leads fundraising efforts. She has a BA in Political Science from Williams College and has worked for a variety of farms and food-related non-profits in Vermont and Massachusetts. Liz fills her free time trail running, baking, and rock climbing.

    Contact Liz by email using firstname [at] vhcb.org




    Aaron Guman, Program Coordinator 

    AG PhotoAaron joined the Farm and Forest Viability Team in August 2020. He manages VHCB’s grant programs for farmers and assists with program administration and the Food Hub Collaborative. Prior to VHCB, Aaron worked in affordable housing, grew grass-fed beef, and ran an edible landscape services company. He holds a B.A. in Interdisciplinary Studies from Naropa University. Aaron is passionate about perennial and regenerative food systems, enjoys cooking and exploring the woods, fields and waterways of Vermont.

    Contact Aaron by email using firstname [at] vhcb.org



    MARIAH NOTH, Outreach & Communications Coordinator

    Noth_2Mariah joined the Viability Program team in 2019. She manages VHCB's Rural Economic Development Initiative as well as outreach efforts, annual reporting, grant administration, and COVID Recovery initiatives. Mariah holds a degree in Community & International Development and Food Systems from the University of Vermont, and prior to joining VHCB, she worked as a community planner and in sustainable viniculture. Mariah is passionate about strengthening food systems, enjoys cooking and getting outdoors, and lives in Burlington where she and her partner have a budding apiary, ONE BeeTV.

    Contact Mariah by email using firstname [at] vhcb.org or by calling or 802-828-1098.


    Calley Hastings, Program Manager

    Calley HastingsCalley Hastings joined the Vermont Farm & Forest Viability Program as the Program Manager in 2021.  Calley has her BA in Environmental Studies and Sustainable Agriculture from UVM. She started her family business, Fat Toad Farm, 14 years ago producing Goat’s Milk Caramel, has been through the Viability Program as a client and has been providing business/marketing planning to farmers across Vermont as a consultant. She taught farmer Holistic Management courses for years and has recently been serving as the Board President of the VT Specialty Food Association. She brings a wealth of experience and connections to the working landscape to this position. In her free time Calley enjoys photography, running and her Icelandic sheep dogs!

    Contact Calley by email using firstname [at] vhcb.org

    Betsy McGavisk, Program Assistant

    Betsy HeadshotBetsy started her role as the Program Assistant for the Vermont Farm & Forest Viability Program in the spring of 2021. She provides administrative support to our water quality grants program, data management, and outreach efforts. Betsy is motivated by building a just and sustainable economy, has a BA in Community and International Development from the University of Vermont, and has previously worked as grassroots community organizer, baker, and pickler. Betsy lives in Burlington’s Old North End and spends her free time biking, cooking, and dancing.

    Contact Betsy by email using b.mcgavisk [at] vhcb.org or by calling or 802-828-5562.

  • Advisory Board

    Alyson Eastman, Deputy Secretary, Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets (Chair)
    Joan Goldstein, Commissioner, Vermont Department of Economic Development
    Colleen Goodridge, Goodridge Lumber
    Ashlyn Bristle, Rebop Farm
    Norah Lake, Sweetland Farm
    Sarah Isham, VT Agricultural Credit Corporation/VT Economic Development Authority
    Jenna Koloski, Vermont Council on Rural Development
    Dan Lerner, University of Vermont Extension

    Fred Kenney, Addison County Economic Development Corp.
    Michael Snyder, Commissioner, Vermont Department of Forests, Parks & Recreation
    Gus Seelig, Vermont Housing & Conservation Board